Insurance World

African Insurance Awards 2019


BY NKECHI NAECHE—-African Reinsurance Corporation (Africa Re) has announce entries for the 5th edition of the African Insurance Awards. 

According to the reinsurance giant, the objective of the Awards is to reward and celebrate innovation, good corporate management and good leadership in the African insurance industry.

It added that the 2019 edition will take place on Monday 10 June 2019 in Johannesburg, South Africa, while noting that therre are four categories of Awards in this year’s edition.

The categories are: Insurance Company of the Year- This prize is open to all insurance companies registered in Africa and focusing on performance in the last 2 years.

The second award is the CEO of the Year- this special award is given to the CEO of a company, who has made an outstanding contribution over the past 12 months or more, either through the advancement of his/her company or the insurance industry in Africa. 

The third award is Innovation of the Year- this prize is awarded to an insurance company for the best use of technology, for launching a breakthrough product/service or a new and innovative distribution channel or method. 

While the fourth award is InsurTech Breakthrough: this prize targets non-insurers that are collaborating with insurers to improve customer service delivery, product development and overall innovation in the insurance value chain. For the InsurTech category, Africa Re will provide a platform for winners to meet the insurance industry.

Interested participants in this category should visit

The window to submit applications is opened from 18 February 2019 to 30 April 2019.

Cash prizes, plaques and certificates will be awarded to winners. 

Deadline for submission of nominees 18 April 2019, while report on shortlisted candidates and submission to panel 30 April 2019. 

Deadline for submission by panelists of the ranking of top nominees.

For more information please visit


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *