Lagos APC guber: NWC’s panel makes U-Turn, declares Sanwo-Olu winner

The Lagos State All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship panel has finally declared Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu winner of the party’s primaries held on Tuesday.
Chairman of the panel, Chief Clement Ebri, made the declaration on Wednesday in Ikeja, Lagos.

The declaration contradicts the panel’s earlier stand that the primary was invalid.

The committee chairman had argued that they were not part of the process and that the party chapter conducted the primaries entirely on its own

The state chapter had disregarded the verdict of the committee and declared the result late on Tuesday.

Ebri while affirming the result declared by the state chapter, said that Sanwo-Olu polled 970,851 votes to defeat the incumbent Governor Akinwunmi Ambode who scored 72,901 votes.

“The Lagos State APC governorship committee collated the results in the 245 wards from our collating officers.

“At the end of the exercise, the following votes were scored by the aspirants: Governor Akinwunmi Ambode scored 72,901 votes and Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu scored 970,851 votes.

“Following the results, I, Clement Ebri, the Chairman APC Governorship Committee hereby declares Sanwo-Olu winner of the primary,” he said.

Ambode’s camp has yet to react to the development, which appears to have sealed the governor’s chances of seeking re-election on the platform of APC.

The governor has reportedly run out of favour with the National Leader of the APC, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, described widely as Ambode’s political god-father.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *